Skip to main content

Committee and advisory groups

As a capital city council, the City of Melbourne delivers a range of programs and initiatives that contribute to the cultural, social and economic vitality of Melbourne.

A birds-eye view over city at sunset

To assist with this process, the Council has in place a number of key advisory bodies whose work facilitates development and implementation of such activities.

Outlined below is a list of key advisory committees, bodies and groups including current members.

Committees, bodies and groups

Audit and Risk Committee

This committee is appointed to oversee the activities of Council.

City Economy Advisory Committee

A committee established by the City of Melbourne will help turbocharge the city’s daytime economy, attract more people to the city and identify new opportunities for growth.

Disability Advisory Committee

The Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) provides advice to the City of Melbourne on access to inclusion.

Invest Melbourne Advisory Board

Provides strategic advice and feedback on the potential opportunities for growth of investment for the city.

The purpose of the Chief Executive Officer Employment Matters Advisory Committee is to assist the Council in fulfilling its responsibilities concerning Chief Executive Officer employment matters. View the Committee’s Terms of Reference (PDF 1.4 MB) and the Chief Executive Officer Employment and Remuneration Policy. 


  • Dr Graeme Emonson PSM (Independent Chair) 
  • Lord Mayor Sally Capp 
  • Councillor Roshena Campbell 
  • Councillor Philip Le Liu 
  • Councillor Davydd Griffiths 

Dr Graeme Emonson PSM 

Graeme has a strong interest in leadership, organisational effectiveness and governance. He has a PhD in leadership, a Master of Business (Public Sector Management) and a Bachelor of Business. Graeme is a senior executive in the Victoria Government where he has responsibilities for the full life cycle of executive management employment. Graeme held the role of Executive Director, Local Government Victoria from February 2016 to June 2020 and has held several roles at Chief Executive Officer level in the Victorian local government sector. Graeme’s career in local government spans more than 35 years. He is a Victorian Fellow and Board Member of IPAA Victoria, member of the International City and County Managers’ Association, and a Fellow of Local Government Professionals (LGPro). In June 2020, Graeme was awarded the Public Service Medal for distinguished public service and leadership to the Victorian local government sector. 


  • Ryan Johnston, Director, Visitor Experience (Chair) 
  • Phip Murray, History/Theory Coordinator and Lecturer, RMIT University 
  • Hannah Presley, Senior Curator - University of Melbourne 


  • Lord Mayor Nicholas Reece (Chair)
  • Councillor Rohan Leppert (Deputy Chair)
  • Evan Counsel
  • Jocelyn Chiew
  • Director City Strategy (To be announced)

Technical experts: 

  • Jill Garner 
  • David Wagner 
  • Naomi Barun 
  • Prof. Julie Willis 
  • Prof. Martyn Hook 
  • Georgia Birks 
  • Cath Evans 
  • Noel Matthews 
  • Rob Adams

Community members: 

  • Ben Milbourne  
  • Robyn Pollock  
  • Lara Brown  
  • Dan Ong  
  • Nivedita Ravindran 

Technical advisors: 

  • Monique Woodward 
  • Sarah Lynn Rees 
  • Karl Fender 
  • Danni Hunter 

To find out more about this committee visit the Design Excellence Program

Members 2023-26: 

  • Cr Dr Olivia Ball (Chair)  
  • Cr Jamal Hakim (Alternate)  
  • Kit Regan  
  • Patrick Chiappalone  
  • Lachlan Wills  
  • Craig Peel  
  • Margaret Stewart  
  • Richie Goonan  
  • Alison Young  
  • Tim Cronin  
  • Bevan Warner  
  • Nicole Bartholomeusz  
  • Prashanti Manchikanti  

To find out more about this committee or its work, visit Participate MelbourneOpens in new tab 

Panel members: 

  • Evan Counsel (Chair)
  • Jocelyn Chiew (Deputy Chair)
  • Shane Murray 
  • Shelley Penn 
  • Vanessa Bird 
  • Mark Jacques 
  • Simone Bliss 
  • Louise Wright 
  • Ann Lau 
  • Alison Potter 
  • Craig Tan 
  • James Legge 
  • Jeremy McLeod 
  • Julian Kosloff 
  • Marika Neustupny 
  • Minnie Cade 
  • Donald Bates 
  • Matthew Mackay 

Technical experts: 

  • Anna Peters 
  • Gavin Ashley 
  • Jim Gard’ner 
  • Johanna Trickett 
  • Kate Gray 
  • Michael Frazzetto 
  • Sarah Slattery 
  • Anne-Marie Pisani 
  • Jon Shinkfield 

To find out more about this panel visit the Design Excellence Program. 


  • Councillor Rohan Leppert (Chair) 
  • Councillor Elizabeth Doidge (Alternate) 
  • Gary Bateman 
  • Chris Cole 
  • Sarah Eggleton 
  • Alex Felson 
  • Gayle Gledhill 
  • Gail Hall 
  • Alexandra Lee 
  • Sarah Maskell 
  • Artemis Pattichi 
  • Felicity Strong 
  • David Wark 


  • N’arwee’t Carolyn Briggs, Boon Wurrung elder and Traditional Owner, Chair, Boon Wurrung Foundation: Elder in Residence, RMIT University 
  • Jefa Greenaway, Director Greenaway Architects, Lecturer Melbourne University, Chair of Indigenous Architecture + Design Victoria (IADV) 
  • Charlotte Day, Director, Monash University Museum of Art 
  • Dr Simone Slee, VCA, Art Research Convenor, Senior Lecturer, Sculpture and Spatial Practice 

At the commencement of the SCCP, the City of Melbourne established an external Audit Committee whose functions are to:  

  • provide an independent review and checking mechanism for the camera program that ensures that it meets the requirements of its Protocols and Operating Procedures  
  • promote public confidence in the camera program by ensuring its operations are transparent to the public and under ongoing independent scrutiny and review  
  • recommend action that will safeguard the camera program against abuse.  

The operations of the camera program are examined by the Audit Committee to ensure that the use of the cameras  

  • continues to be for designated purposes only  
  • complies with the protocols and procedures  
  • does not compromise the privacy and rights of the general public through any unauthorised use.  

The Audit Committee provides a written audit report to Council on an annual basis. This report evaluates the operations of the camera program and compliance with the Protocols and Operating Procedures. The Audit Committee’s past reports are provided below.  




our acknowledgement

  • Torres Strait Islander Flag
  • Aboriginal People Flag

The City of Melbourne respectfully acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land we govern, the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung and Bunurong / Boon Wurrung peoples of the Kulin and pays respect to their Elders past and present. 


We acknowledge and honour the unbroken spiritual, cultural and political connection they have maintained to this unique place for more than 2000 generations.

We accept the invitation in the Uluru Statement from the Heart and are committed to walking together to build a better future.