

CITY OF MELBOURNE

Special Future Melbourne Committee Minutes

Meeting Number 37 Thursday 23 June 2022 5.30pm

Town Hall Commons

Present

Lord Mayor Sally Capp Deputy Lord Mayor Nicholas Reece Councillor Dr Olivia Ball Councillor Jason Chang Councillor Davydd Griffiths Councillor Jamal Hakim (via Zoom) Councillor Philip Le Liu Councillor Rohan Leppert Councillor Kevin Louey

Apologies

Councillor Roshena Campbell Councillor Elizabeth Doidge

> To be confirmed at the meeting of the Future Melbourne Committee On Tuesday 12 July 2022

1. Commencement of meeting and apologies

The meeting commenced at 5.30pm.

The Chair, Lord Mayor Sally Capp, advised that:

- the meeting was being streamed live and that an audio and video recording would be made available on the City of Melbourne website before close of business tomorrow
- the agenda comprised of two reports from management
- apologies had been received from Councillors Campbell and Doidge
- Cr Hakim was attending the meeting via Zoom.

2. Disclosures of conflicts of interest

The Chair, Lord Mayor Sally Capp, advised that conflicts of interest should be disclosed as they arose.

3. Reports from management

The Chair, Lord Mayor Sally Capp, advised that the following submissions had been received in accordance with the Council's Governance Rules:

Submissions/Correspondence

In relation to Agenda item 3.1, Consideration of public feedback and matters arising on the draft Annual Plan 2022–2023:

Request to speak:

Simon Baldwin.

Items of correspondence:

- Simon Baldwin
- Jason
- Linus
- Richard
- Miniam

- Lyndon
- Maggie
- Jeremy
- Andrew Lowcock
- Leanne Edwards.

There were five people who did not provide their names when providing their feedback.

In relation to Agenda item 3.2, Consideration of public feedback and matters arising on the draft Budget 2022–23:

Requests to speak:

- Nathan Pittman
- Bronwyn Brkic
- Richard Hunt
- David Hamilton, Southbank3006
- Jannine Pattison, Southbank3006
- Rebecca Lindberg, The Community Grocer
- Brendan Nottle, Salvation Army
- Carlton Residents Association
- Ian Bird, Tyne-Lt Elgin St Owners Corporation.

Items of correspondence:

- Nathan Pittman
- Bronwyn Brkic
- Richard Hunt
- David Hamilton
- Rebecca Lindberg

- Roberto Barajas
- Brett Pearson
- Wayne Coles-Janes
- Ken Atchison
- Ben Bergman

·····

.

- Linda Dugan
- Ian Wallis
- Jane Hoiting
- Rosie King

- Andrew Lowcock
- Leanne Edwards
- Felicia Mariani.
- There were 63 people who did not provide their names when providing their feedback.

3.1 Consideration of public feedback and matters arising on the draft Annual Plan 2022–2023

The purpose of this report was to present the public feedback received in response to the draft Annual Plan 2022–2023

The following person was listed to address the Committee but did not attend:

Simon Baldwin.

Moved: Cr Le Liu

- 1. That the Future Melbourne Committee, after considering all written submissions in response to the draft Annual Plan 2022–2023 and hearing from anyone wishing to be heard in support of their feedback, recommends that the Council:
 - 1.1. Adopts the Annual Plan 2022–2023 (Annual Plan) incorporating recommended changes outlined in Attachments 2 and 4 of the report from management, with the exception of Attachment 4, items 4 and 4b, where no change is to be made.
 - 1.2. Advises each of the members of the public who provided feedback of the Council's decision in relation to these matters and the reasons for the decision.
 - 1.3. Notes that there will be public quarterly reporting on the Annual Plan.

Seconded: Deputy Lord Mayor Nicholas Reece

The motion was put and carried unanimously with the following Councillors present: The Chair, Lord Mayor Sally Capp, Deputy Lord Mayor Nicholas Reece and Councillors Dr Ball, Chang, Griffiths, Hakim, Le Liu, Leppert and Louey.

3.2 Consideration of public feedback and matters arising on the draft Budget 2022–23

The purpose of this report was to the public feedback received in response to the draft Budget 2022–23.

The following people addressed the Committee:

- Richard Hunt
- David Hamilton, Southbank3006
- Jannine Pattison, Southbank3006
- Rebecca Lindberg, The Community Grocer
- Brendan Nottle, Salvation Army
- Carlton Residents Association
- Ian Bird, Tyne-Lt Elgin St Owners Corporation.

The following people were listed to address the Committee but did not attend:

- Nathan Pittman
- Bronwyn Brkic

.

Moved: Cr Le Liu

- 1. That the Future Melbourne Committee, after considering all written submissions in response to the draft Budget 2022–23 and hearing from anyone wishing to be heard in support of their feedback, recommends that the Council:
 - 1.1. Adopts the draft Budget 2022–23 subject to the following adjustments:
 - 1.1.1. All recommended changes outlined in Attachment 5, noting that these changes will require provision of an additional \$140,000 of funding;
 - 1.1.2. Provision of an additional \$80,000 of funding for the Rapid Response Clean Team to undertake additional cleaning beyond the Hoddle Grid, focusing on cleaning 'hot spots' identified in FY2021/22;
 - 1.1.3. Provision of an additional \$150,000 of funding for increasing the frequency of litter bin emptying by Citywide in peak times, including during weekends and major events;
 - 1.2. Notes that the aforementioned adjustments will result in an increase of \$370,000 in underlying deficit in FY2022-23;
 - 1.3. Advises each of the members of the public who provided feedback of the Council's decision in relation to these matters and the reasons for the decision.
 - 1.4. Notes that a toilet for the Lygon/Faraday area has been purchased under the 2021-22 Capital Works budget, and that a decision on location will be made in the short term, to enable installation of the toilet ideally in the first quarter of 2022-23.

Seconded: Deputy Lord Mayor Nicholas Reece

The motion was put and carried unanimously with the following Councillors present: The Chair, Lord Mayor Sally Capp, Deputy Lord Mayor Nicholas Reece and Councillors Dr Ball, Chang, Griffiths, Hakim, Le Liu, Leppert and Louey.

6. Closure of meeting

The Chair, Lord Mayor Sally Capp, declared the meeting closed at 6.37pm.

To be confirmed at the meeting of the Future Melbourne Committee on Tuesday 12 July 2022.

Chair Future Melbourne Committee

·